History Inspires My Room at the Designer’s Show House

As I mentioned last week, I’m excited to be designing a room for the Mansions & Millionaires Designer’s Show House. Each designer is assigned a room and then it is up to the designer to envision the design of that room. My room is a bedroom with a fireplace and a full bath. Since I am intrigued by the people who might have visited this home as guests of the previous owners, my vision is to develop a guest room for the weary traveler.

I am incorporating elements that will reflect the different owners from 1914 to present day. These elements reflect the kind of items the weary travelers brought with them from their worldwide adventures. Some elements would reflect things the travelers always carried with them, while others reflect gifts they might have presented to their hosts. The 19th century campaign writing desk would have been carried over the desert by camel as its owner braved the harsh elements in search of rug traders. I will use a Persian or kilm rug to extend this analogy. 

The fireplace is a key element to the room. I can imagine travelers resting in front of the fireplace before joining the rest of the house party for afternoon sports or evening entertainment. I will use a comfortable 20th century lounge chair by the fireplace. Since the room would be used for both male and female visitors, I am selecting colors that are gender neutral, yet welcoming.

Stay tuned for further updates. I continue to work with my favorite vendors to source all aspects of the room from paint to rugs, lighting to furniture. It’s quite a project!

  1. #1 by Larissa on July 21, 2011 - 11:17 am

    Can’t wait to see photos!

  2. #2 by Ellen Hecht on July 21, 2011 - 9:55 pm

    WOW- what a great project, Pat- they’re lucky to have your talents & good taste to be a part of this! So how do I get the keys for a summer rental here?!? Ellen

  1. Hurry! Last Chance to See the Designer’s Show House « Design Inspirations

Leave a Reply

